Favorites: iPhone apps

My favorite iphone apps

As much as I love soaking in all those quiet, rustic details of a simple life, I do still love technology! I love the fact that it allows us to capture the world around us in such a personal, customized way…and how technology lets us share those “life snippets” with others! Today I’m sharing my favorite iPhone apps – and not just the obvious ones I really enjoy, like Facebook or Instagram or Pinterest! :)

Check these out! I may be biased, since I use these all the cotton-pickin’ time, but I think you’ll love them!!

1. #NoCrop

I use the free version of this app, and I absolutely love it!! #NoCrop allows you to get outside the literal “box” that Instagram puts you in. Yes, squares are aesthetically pleasing, but think about it: does your life fit into a little square? Are all those meaningful pictures you take meant to fit into a box? I don’t think so. Sometimes, you’ve captured a beautiful stretch of evening sky, and you don’t want to chop off most of your sunset! Or maybe you want to share a picture of you and your friends standing in a line – and you don’t want to cut anybody out! ;) Try #NoCrop – you’ll be thrilled with the possibilities it gives you as you share pictures with friends on Instagram!

2. VSCO Cam

This app was also free. I use VSCO Cam to process virtually all of the pictures I take with my iPhone. It’s such an easy editing app to work with, and provides you with great filters. It’s like a step up from Instagram’s editing options – which is a good thing since you don’t want all of your pictures to end up orange or with funky lighting. Sometimes, that’s fun and artsy, but you may want to tone it down so that someday when you look back on older pictures, they still capture life in a pretty natural and realistic way. VSCO Cam is great because it gives you a bit of extra control in adjusting things like exposure, graininess, contrast, temperature, cropping photos [so you can THEN use #NoCrop!!!!!], and vignette options, PLUS unique filters!

3. InstaCollage Free

Again, a free app! (Are you detecting a pattern here??) This is a fun app. I use all of the most simple settings. I don’t want to go crazy with cutesy photo shapes etc. :) My advice is not to make a collage of more than 4 photos – that gets really small and just starts to clog up the visual space. It’s a fun little app that works in sync with Instagram, and it’s a fun way to share a couple different moments from the same day or event!

IMG_0370

AN EXAMPLE OF PICTURES EDITED WITH VSCO CAM AND INSTACOLLAGE – last day of school silliness with my hubby! :)

IMG_9917

PRE- AND POST-HAIRCUT PICTURES…EDITED WITH VSCO CAM AND INSTACOLLAGE!

^^THE PICTURE IN THE iPHONE GRAPHIC AT THE TOP OF THIS PAGE IS ALSO A PICTURE OF MINE…EDITED WITH VSCO CAM^^

Well, there you have it – my favorites! And you probably noticed, they all center around a photography theme… :) I love my new camera so much, but iPhones can be such a great tool in capturing the world around us, too – utilize apps like these and you’ll have pics in your phone’s Camera Roll that you’ll be pleased to share! :)

As always, thanks for reading!

Speaking of pictures…find me on Instagram:

@hannahbeeolson

www.instagram.com/hannahbeeolson

best love hannah bee jgp

Have a comment?

