{TAKE ME TO} Monticello

take me to monticello

I’m excited to share pictures from this past weekend…which I think is technically our Honeymoon #3! (See the story behind that HERE.) This was one of my favorite Virginia excursions so far! On Saturday, Bjorn and I drove to the western part of the state to visit Thomas Jefferson’s Monticello. I’m a sucker for beautiful home architecture as well as lovely gardens, and this place had both! We felt that the tours were really well done – the only bummer is that we couldn’t take pictures inside the estate. One of the things that these historical sites have in common is a Visitor Center to start at, with a 20-minute or so educational video. Bjorn, of course, knows most of the info already, but it offered me a great head start on the history of the place!

Monticello (the last syllable is pronounced like the instrument) was designed and continually re-designed by Thomas Jefferson. We loved spending time at this lovely place!

1787 August 12. (Jefferson to George Gilmer) “I am as happy no where else and in no other society, and all my wishes end, where I hope my days will end, at Monticello. Too many scenes of happiness mingle themselves with all the recollections of my native woods and fields, to suffer them to be supplanted in my affection by any other.”

IMG_0023

^^ The front entrance ^^

IMG_0030

IMG_0045

^^ The grounds around the back of the estate ^^

IMG_0052

IMG_0157

^^ The fish pond – fish that were caught earlier were kept in this pond until needed later :) ^^

IMG_0142

^^ The back of the estate ^^

IMG_0109

^^ The large kitchen ^^

IMG_0116

IMG_0121

^^ Quill pen practice! (And of course, my husband writes “When in the course of human events…” like a history stud, while I lamely write my name! Ha!) ^^

IMG_0118

IMG_0136

IMG_0082

^^ Overlooking the huge gardens. Jefferson also had a vineyard and orchards. ^^

IMG_0168

IMG_0178

 Jefferson wrote: “From breakfast, or noon at the latest, to dinner, I am mostly on horseback, Attending to My Farm or other concerns, which I find healthful to my body, mind, and affairs.”

IMG_0185

IMG_0202

1786 October 12. (Jefferson to Maria Cosway) “And our own dear Monticello, where has nature spread so rich a mantel under the eye? mountains, forests, rocks, rivers. With what majesty do we there ride above the storms! How sublime to look down into the workhouse of nature, to see her clouds, hail, snow, rain, thunder, all fabricated at our feet! And the glorious Sun, when rising as if out of a distant water, just gilding the tops of the mountains, and giving life to all nature!”

IMG_0097

^^ View of the hills from the gardens in back ^^

IMG_0147

IMG_0209

Thomas Jefferson dearly loved his Albermarle County estate. We spent several happy, sunny hours walking the grounds and touring the house. Monticello was Jefferson’s retreat from the political world, and I can see why he loved it so!

Click HERE to learn more about Monticello, and click “Follow” in the upper righthand corner of this page to follow Just Bee and stay up-to-date on our Virginia adventures!

best love hannah bee jgp

2 thoughts on “{TAKE ME TO} Monticello

  1. Pingback: {TAKE ME TO} a Virginia berry farm |

  2. Pingback: {TAKE ME TO} a Virginia cidery |

Have a comment?

