{TAKE ME TO} a Virginia cidery

take me to a virginia cidery

Sometimes, an adventure doesn’t need to be all about doing – it can be about sitting back, soaking up small joys, relaxing… Last Saturday was one of our most serene getaways here in Virginia and I’m happy to share it today!

(I was honored to share this outing as a guest post on the food blog How to Boil Water – visit them HERE!)

My husband and I had spent the morning at Thomas Jefferson’s Monticello (such a lovely place!) and wanted to wrap up our day in western Virginia with something unique and relaxing. I had researched some wineries in the area but nothing particularly caught my eye until I saw the word “cidery.” Although we’d still like to visit a winery someday, we’ve always preferred hard cider over wine so this was the perfect excursion! I was thrilled to find a cidery not too far from Monticello – so, armed with our phone GPS, my beloved camera, and a bit of dehydration from earlier guided tours, we set off to find Castle Hill Cider in Keswick.

IMG_0357

Virginia’s rolling hills offered us a stunning backdrop as we took miles of winding backroads. The sun was hot and the white picket fences went on and on in every direction, each boxing in their own quaint farm.

IMG_0228

Finally, we arrived. The view as we pulled up nearly took my breath away!

IMG_0245

IMG_0238

IMG_0248

The tasting included 5 of their cider varieties, and since we love anything that sounds like what you’d have on a picnic in Italy, we ordered a platter of bread and gourmet cheeses too! :)

IMG_0262

The view out of the window was lovely! They were actually setting up for a (Pinterest-worthy?!) wedding outdoors while we were there!

IMG_0277

1

IMG_0292

IMG_0266

We loved our visit to Castle Hill Cider. Stopping at a cidery was such a sweet and relaxing segue into our evening. I fell in love with the idyllic landscape and the calm setting (and the cider was delicious, too)! I highly recommend checking out a cidery near you!

IMG_0330

IMG_0356

 

Happy Thursday!!

best love hannah bee jgp

 

PS – For more “daily life” pictures, follow me on Instagram! @hannahbeeolson

 

 

 

One thought on “{TAKE ME TO} a Virginia cidery

  1. Pingback: {TAKE ME TO} a Virginia berry farm |

Have a comment?

