The farmer’s wife | inspiration

Here, play this song while I ramble for a second. :)

I’ve known for quite some time that my trajectory in life would take me to a place different than the one I grew up in. Long before I even met my husband (whose family lives and farms in southern Minnesota), I was daydreaming about long dirt roads, aching for my own orchard of apple trees, devouring books about the Amish and buying others about country living, and mastering the art of homemade bread.

Although I grew up in beautiful suburbs (and have maintained a love affair with Starbucks!), I was always drawn to the rural life. There was no doubt about it: it was somehow imprinted upon my soul, and I knew I would end up there – wherever “there” would be. Over the years, I’ve been able to pinpoint this desire better – it’s not just the living “in the country” that draws me in – not just those endless fields and the even more endless skies. It’s the rustic details of this life: the small joys of a pie crust you made yourself, or dappled yellow sunlight coming in through a kitchen window, or daisies stuck haphazardly in a pitcher, or that quiet mailbox waiting at the end of a long driveway.

I just recently found a quote that resonated deeply with me. Its words flung themselves into my thoughts and chose to stay there:

“Instead of wondering when your next vacation is, maybe you should set up a life that you don’t need to escape from.”

I can’t get over it. And I certainly cannot seem to shake it from my system – a life that beckons gently with the words “rich, full, wild, happy, rustic, simple, free!” A life that you don’t need to escape from – it is an exquisite escape in itself!! I use one of my boards on Pinterest to collect what I can of this lovely life, drawing inspiration from small details of living in the country. When I scroll through these pictures, I can almost hear the crickets’ evening song and a child’s giggle. I can see a horse gazing placidly at me over a fence in the yard, I can feel the soft flour on my hands and smell the sweet grass still hot from the sun. A life close to the land and soaked heavily in small details is so intensely satisfying – and it is a life that draws us close to our Creator.

1d6e1111136c83b1e145ec2f4d29ea2b

^^ Click for source ^^

78c148135ff549e8766502c79f08b9c3

^^ Click for source ^^

f6f5fa8defb8da8e142eb6d780c2b4f7

^^ Click for source ^^

2480050444b058a52c319eac1d876169

^^ Click for source ^^

db2cee2985f2e7b3d78b0e394fe7eaf5

^^ Click for source ^^

951eb2d9f7828e5d6da5de0086abfe9f

^^ Click for source ^^

192e229eee79e9f3452c080f0fabc88b

^^ Click for source ^^

2da0e98b1bb468b77bd4b461e3164308

^^ Click for source ^^

bf99003477bbbdece86802a59a98f034

^^ Click for source ^^

5d487c0f8aefd2191a6e62c84610d9d5

^^ Click for source ^^

f867729452eaffe2ac04111a7af0aed8

^^ Click for source ^^

4c35fae014208b72ba9c4131789a08d9

^^ Click for source ^^

776dbc2ade95d84161f315c664de3661

^^ Click for source ^^

I am still on a journey to grasp more simplicity in my life, and I love it, because I am filled with such joy and anticipation as I look at our future! And sure, it’s going to be different from so many other people’s journeys – but it’s a beautiful journey in itself and I feel honored to have the life that God specifically designed in advance for us. We look forward to the day when we live on our own farm place and these pictures are less-Pinterest and more-reality, but we are still satisfied in this hoping and dreaming and planning stage! I am filled with a sense of awe at the fact that this life story is one that my husband and I can truly create for ourselves! As we let our story unfold and we build our dreams together, we will continue to be thankful for the little things that make our rural life so rich and whole!

What are the little details in your life that make you rejoice in your own journey??

best love hannah bee jgp

PS – Find the rest of my Pinterest life journey inspiration HERE.

Have a comment?

