A season of joy.

Hi from Detroit! I’ve got a 4 hour layover here on my way back to Virginia – and let me just say, I am SO excited to see my husband again! It may be a newlywed thing, but I wasn’t really a fan of being apart for 10 days. :) That being said, it has been so great to spend time with family and celebrate 2 of my friends’ weddings in Minnesota!

 After a bit of wandering and moving-sidewalk maneuvering (with a seriously heavy backpack on!), I’ve settled into a quiet corner of the airport (a miracle, I know!) with Bjorn’s army pack on my right and an iced vanilla chai on my left. :) I’m grateful for this unique type of down time, and I’m trying to see a long layover not as an inconvenience but rather as a space where I can just breathe for a bit. I actually like this time spent sitting with no action plan other than to step onto that plane later. It’s something I can be grateful for, because I’m sure there will be days in the future when I’ll wish I had this kind of break! :)

Time to reflect back on this fun week (and the weddings of this season!)…

It has been such a season of JOY. Joy is more than a simple up-and-down emotion – it’s an underlying exquisite happiness, and one that runs deep! Joy meets us with an equally strong feeling – hope. I don’t think you can get through life if you don’t have a shade of hope.  I like to think of it as the opposite of heartache: the same way you nearly feel physical pain when your heart breaks, I believe that you can truly feel joy streaming into your being!!

And we’ve certainly felt a lot of that recently.

Tears running down cheeks as I smoothed the bride’s dress one last time before she headed down the aisle.

Glowing smiles on grandparents’ faces.

Squeals of delight as college friends grabbed each other for a hug.

Twirly giggles from the flower girl on the dance floor.

Soft looks of love that even the rain couldn’t put a damper on.

Watery-eyed hugs from siblings (and new siblings) as they ended their speeches and toasts.

The way that the already-married couples leaned into each other and grinned as they watched a new couple say their vows.

The pride shining from parents’ eyes.

Laughter bubbling up from reception tables as friends, old and new, relived memories and told funny stories.

A husband’s sustaining “I love you, and I know” smile as his beaming bride sang for him.

No matter how it was expressed, the JOY of this season was prevalent, it was contagious and it was wonderful.

roommates at our wedding

^^ Roommates at our wedding in March! ^^

lauren's wedding

^^ Lauren and Josh’s wedding at the end of May! ^^

Processed with VSCOcam with b5 preset

^^ I sure do love him. :) ^^

IMG_2060

^^ Ariel and Andrew’s special day in July! ^^

Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

^^ At Jenna and Matt’s wedding this weekend! ^^

IMG_2417

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

And thank You, Lord, that this overwhelming, shining feeling of JOY is something that we don’t JUST have to feel at weddings! What a difference it makes in the roughness of this life to have a constant hope surging underneath it all. :)

What is bringing you joy today??

best love hannah bee jgp

Have a comment?

