Lee Life.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

I like Fort Lee.

I like that our housekeeper and I are friends. And that she keeps me accountable: “Ah, I see, she has just gotten up now! Ha!” (Today was an unusually late start!)

I like adjusting the A/C up and down all day (well, down by the time my husband gets back.)

I like that we have a dishwasher here.

I like living in a place where we didn’t know anyone at first.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

I like scheming up our weekend plans – and setting out to do them!

I like scheming up dinner recipes – and surprising my husband with yummy plates of fresh ingredients.

I like how much natural light pours daily into our suite.

I like how close we are to so much history.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

I like the pool.

I like how “The Waltons” is always on TV.

I like the community here, and how everyone calls me “ma’am!”

I like the space to think, and write, and take pictures, and read. Oh, the reading!

I like how hot the sun feels here.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

 

I like the humidity curling my hair.

I like having a washer and dryer!

I like how our car now knows its way around, and I don’t have to consult a map to get places.

I like the tall pines on the outskirts of the base – like North Carolina pines, the same ones framing the property I was first brought home to, Mom says.

I like the hushed woods and dappled dusty jogging paths.

I like how I have the commissary memorized – I no longer wander looking for the right aisle for artichoke hearts, no longer am new.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

I like being his wife here.

I like being proud of him, proud of all of them, proud of the “us” that is our country.

I like how he is being trained, and stretched, and strengthened, and learning so much and being blessed by friendship.

I like the space to have this chapter of our lives, all our own, a fresh adventure.

I like Virginia, with all its rolling green hills and a hint of twang, more than I thought I would.

 

I’m afraid of liking it too much. But we can always come back, he says.

And he likes it here. But he also likes Minnesota, and our life there.

And I like our life there. We can’t wait for that, too.

I like that it’s waiting for us.

And I like that it is ours to do together.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

One thought on “Lee Life.

Have a comment?

